I am embarking on the 8th month of my pregnancy. And I am mostly struck by how unbelievable this all is, has been, and will be.
First of all, I cannot believe that I have made it this far into my pregnancy (even though I knew that it would be inevitable). I have to say that I am very proud of myself. I gave up most of my vices in a single day--yes, I still eat like I am 14 years old but that is my prerogative as a pregnant lady. I am amazed at how my body has changed. I think I am over the "I hate my body" phase because it no longer looks like I have simply gained 20 pounds but it actually looks like I am carry a human child inside of me. Much to the relief of my husband (and frankly, myself), pregnancy has really agreed with me. I no longer feel nauseous after rich foods, mood swings are rare to nonexistent, and the absence of a hangover in the morning is a rather welcome benefit. I love feeling our son kick or punch or stretch. My new favorite reality show is watching my belly contort after dinner. And thanks to my new Kindle I can read and watch him in my favorite position--reclining on my back.
Secondly, I cannot believe that we are having a son in nearly 60 days! This is a huge milestone in our life--if not the largest. We are officially leaving childhood and entering true adulthood. I am not scared to be responsible for another being but I am sad to be closing a chapter in my life. It is a game-changer, for sure. But I am not convinced that all fun will be sucked out of my life (seeing friends over New Years Eve with their baby was a helpful reassurance of this).
So many things that are just hard to believe!